Connect with us

GAA Betting News

GAA Betting Preview – Stand out 12/1 on draw Munster final between Limerick and Tipperary

GAA betting preview – Limerick and Tipperary meet in the Munster final for the first time since 2001 when Tipperary won by two points in Pairc Ui Chaoimh. It will be their second meeting in two weeks, with Tipperary having won by four points in Semple Stadium in the final series of ‘Round Robin’ games. 



Cork 1-26 Limerick 1-19 Limerick 2-24 Waterford 0-10 Limerick 1-28 Clare 0-13 Tipperary 1-22 Limerick 0-21

TIPPERARY Tipperary 2-28 Cork 1-24 Tipperary 2-30 Waterford 0-18 Tipperary 3-21 Clare 0-17 Tipperary 1-22 Limerick 0-21 

Top Scorer

Top Scorers Aaron Gillane…...2-36 (0-29 frees, O-1 ’65’) Graeme Mulcahy….1-7 , Shane Dowling……0-9 (0-6 frees) Tom Morrissey……0-8 

J Forde……...-27 (155, 2 5/1) s Callanan……4-11 J McGrath…….1-14 N McGrath…..1-11 (2f, 1’65’) 

Tipperary last won the Munster title in 2016 while Limerick’s last success was in 2013. Tipperary won all four ’round robin’ games; Limerick won two (v Waterford, Clare) and lost two (Cork, Tipperary).  Tipperary are bidding for their 43rd Munster title; Limerick are seeking their 20th. 

Limerick are playing a Munster final as All-Ireland champions for the first time since 1974 when they beat Clare. Liam Sheedy, who returned as Tipperary manager this year, led the Premier to Munster titles in 2008 and 2009 when they beat Clare and Waterford respectively.  The counties have met 70 times in the championship (68 in Munster, one in the All Ireland semi-final (2009) and one in the All-Ireland qualifiers (2004) with the results standing as follows: Tipperary 36 wins; Limerick 24 wins; Draws 10. Limerick beat Tipperary by 1-21 to 1-14 in this year’s Allianz League in the LIT Gaelic Grounds. 


2001: Tipperary 2-16 Limerick1-17 1996: Limerick 4-7 Tipperary 0-16 (Replay) 1996: Limerick 0-19 Tipperary 1-16 (Draw) 1973: Limerick 6-7 Tipperary 2-18 1971: Tipperary 4-16 Limerick 3-18 


2019: Tipperary 1-22 Limerick 0-21 (Munster ’round robin’) 2018: Limerick 1-23 Tipperary 2-14 (Munster ’round robin) 2016: Tipperary 3-12 Limerick 1-16 (Munster semi-final) 2015: Tipperary 4-23 Limerick 1-16 (Munster semi-final) 2014: Limerick 2-18 Tipperary 2-16 (Munster semi-final) 

Match Betting

William Hill are the biggest price on Limerick at 11/10, Boylesports go 6/5 on Tipperary and Betfred are a huge price of 12/1 on the Draw

Handicap Betting

There is no handicap at both teams can be backed at over evens.

Weather/Total score

Even though there will be perfect conditions the under/overs of 50.5 looks very high, the last five meetings have been 46, 46, 40, 54, 48.  So we think Paddypower have gone four or five points too much.

Team News

Cathal Barrett has recovered from an ankle injury to take his place in the Tipperary team, Declan Hannon and Cian Lynch have both returned to the Limerick team.

Tipperary (Munster SHC final v Limerick): Brian Hogan; Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Sean O’Brien; Brendan Maher, Padraic Maher, Ronan Maher; Michael Breen, Noel McGrath; Jason Forde, John O’Dwyer, Dan McCormack; John McGrath, Seamus Callanan, Jake Morris.

Subs: Paul Maher, Ger Browne, Robert Byrne, Jerome Cahill, Willie Connors, Alan Flynn, Barry Heffernan, Mark Kehoe, Saamus Kennedy, Donagh Maher, Niall O’Meara.

Limerick (Munster SHC final v Tipperary): Nickie Quaid; Sean Finn, Mike Casey, Richie English; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Dan Morrissey; Cian Lynch, William O’Donoghue; Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Graeme Mulcahy, Peter Casey.

Subs: Barry Hennessy, Tom Condon, Aaron Costello, Shane Dowling, Seamus Flanagan, Barry Nash, Darragh O’Donovan, Paddy O’Loughlin, David Reidy, Colin Ryan, Pat Ryan.


Both teams have been backed with different bookmakers, it’s not often both teams are over even money, so the 12/1 on the draw or the under 50.5 total points look the bets for the week.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in GAA Betting News